Karwar and Ankola Municipal Councils Elect their Presidents

September 29, 2023



Karnataka Cabinet Swearing-in, 24 Ministers inducted in the Ministry

Bengaluru : A week after chief minister Siddaramaiah, deputy chief minister DK Shivakumar and eight other ministers took oath of office, 24 new ministers were inducted into the cabinet. The Congress announced names of the 24 legislators late on Friday.
This cabinet expansion brings the total strength of the cabinet to 34, the maximum number allowed under the law. The oath-taking ceremony for the ministers ended at around 1:30 pm at Raj Bhavan in Bengaluru.

This comes after hectic parleys by both CM Siddaramaiah and deputy CM Shivakumar in the national capital with the party high command for the last three days.
The 24 ministers are: H.K. Patil, Krishna Byre Gowda, N. Cheluvarayaswamy, K. Venkatesh, H.C. Mahadevappa, Eshwar Khandre, Kyathasandra N. Rajanna, Dinesh Gundu Rao, Sharanabasappa Darshanapur, Shivanand Patil, Timmapur Ramappa Balappa, S. S. Mallikarjun, Tangadagi Shivaraj, Sharanaprakash Rudrappa Patil, Mankal Vaidya, Laxmi R. Hebbalkar, Rahim Khan, D. Sudhakar, Santhosh S. Lad, N.S. Boseraju, Suresha B.S., Madhu Bangarappa, Dr. M.C. Sudhakar and B. Nagendra.
Congress leaders Dr MC Sudhakar and B Nagendra were the last to take oath as Karnataka ministers in Bengaluru today, which marked the end of the wearing-in ceremony. Several notable figures including Shivrajkumar attended the ceremony.
Madhu Bangarappa also took oath.

Lakshmi Hebbalkar, the only woman in Siddaramaiah’s cabinet, took oath as a Karnataka minister today. The Belagavi Rural legislator is a close aide of DK Shivakumar and is a first-timer in the cabinet.
Mankal Vaidya, a first-timer, also took oath as a cabinet minister today.
Dinesh Gundu Rao, the only brahmin leader in Siddaramaiah’s cabinet, was sworn-in as a minister due to which the Haliyal MLA R V Deshpande who comes under Brahmin quota could not get a berth.